MAXINE BILLINGS, Photographer & Author

Fine Art Photography Inspired By Natural Creation & Wholesome Reading For Your Family's Entertainment

CARING FOR OUR ELDERLY

Leave a comment

OOAK

The 2010 census indicates that the over-65 population has grown faster than the total U.S. population. All over the world, the elderly are dying because of neglect, and many die alone and anonymous. No wonder caring for the needs of the elderly has become one of today’s greatest concerns!

In my short story, ONE OF A KIND, Paula cares for her elderly Aunt Eevie. In today’s society, more and more children have the responsibility of being caregivers for sick and elderly parents, but it doesn’t stop there. Nowadays, it’s common for more than one generation to have to care for various generations of elderly relatives.

God provides a law as to how we are to treat the elderly. Proverbs 16:31 and 23:22 help us to appreciate that they are to be held in high esteem. My siblings and I are caregivers for our mother, and there are also times when her grandchildren have to pitch in and help. Although we have our ups and downs, I consider it an honor and a privilege to help care for Mama in her waning years. If it were not for her, I would not be here. However much time we have left together, I want it to be the best for her that it can possibly be. Even though she’s not physically or mentally as strong as she used to be, she still has a very strong spirit and unwavering faith. And I’m not saying that I’m all that, but it’s because of her that I am the person I am today. She set the example. So anything that I do for her is nothing she hasn’t done for me.

Whether we’re able to care for our elderly loved ones ourselves or we need someone to help us, we should do the very best for them that we can. If we live long enough, we’ll be in their position one day. Will we want to be neglected?

From my heart to yours,
Maxine
http://www.maxinebillings.com

Leave a Reply

