MAXINE BILLINGS, Photographer & Author

Fine Art Photography Inspired By Natural Creation & Wholesome Reading For Your Family's Entertainment

COPING WITH DISABILITIES

Leave a comment

WHEELCHAIR ATHLETEAs I write this post, I’m typing it with the fingers of only one hand, and it is extremely difficult and frustrating.  I’m tempted to try to get the fingers of my left hand to assist those of my right.  Why am I only using one hand?  Am I performing an experiment of some sort?  I wish that was the case.  I’m doing it because I have to.  Being a secretary for almost 34 years before retiring several months ago, in addition to starting my writing career in 1999, have left me with a sensation in my left hand that feels as though I have carpal tunnel.  My left pinkie finger is numb which is making it difficult for me to use my left hand; therefore, I’m trying to rest it while also intermittently exercising my fingers.  It is extremely frustrating not being able to use both of my hands like I normally do in the way I’m accustomed to.  So this got me to thinking about how defeated a person must feel (especially, initially) when some part of his body is unable to function the way it should.

There is a passage in the Bible at 1 Corinthians 12:14-26 that says the body is not made up of one member but many.  It goes on to help us to appreciate that even the body parts that are seemingly weaker are still necessary and all should have mutual concern for one another–because if one of them suffers, all the others suffer with it, and if one of them is glorified, all the others rejoice with it.  Of course, this is an illustration comparing each follower of Christ with each individual member of the body.  But all the same, just as we as humans need each other, each member of our body also needs the other.

ISAIHIn my book, IN SICKNESS AND IN HEALTH, Darryl has to learn to come to terms with his sudden and unexpected disability.  You know, sometimes it’s hard for us to understand what a person is going through until we have to take a walk in their shoes.  Until I recently started having this nagging feeling of paralysis in my finger, I only had a very limited idea in my imagination of how a person in this situation might feel.  But now, having personally experienced it on a very minute level (compared to what so many others are facing), I finally have an even greater higher regard for them and the everyday struggles they face–but more importantly, I have a deeper appreciation and admiration of how they have refused to let their disability handicap them more than it perhaps already has.  So, to them, I would like to say, “Thank you so much for being such an illustrious beacon of light to the world, and especially to those of us who may at times take for granted that we still have full use of all of our body members.  You are truly an inspiration!”

HAPPY READING!  And as always, this is from my heart to yours.

Maxine

http://www.maxinebillings.com

 

(Wheelchair Athlete Photo-Courtesy of Office.com Clip Art)

Leave a Reply

