MAXINE BILLINGS, Photographer & Author

Fine Art Photography Inspired By Natural Creation & Wholesome Reading For Your Family's Entertainment

INTRODUCING EEVIE!

Leave a comment

WELCOME, MISS EEVIE!

Hello, everyone!  Today, I have a very special guest who I would like to introduce to you.  Her name is Evelyn Faye Randall, but most people call her Miss Eevie.  Many of you will probably remember her from my short story, ONE OF A KIND.  She is the incredible aunt of Paula.  Well, Miss Eevie has just launched her very own Web site called ASK EEVIE, and I thought it would be nice to sit down with her for a few minutes on an interview.  And since I love her cheery, melodious, Southern accent and way of talking so much, I decided to script the typed interview in the exact manner that she speaks.  So here she is, everyone, the lady we all know as Miss Eevie!

M:  Well, first of all, Miss Eevie, I would like to welcome you to my blog site and to the worldwide web.

E:  Well, thank yuh very much, Maxine.  Um so excited to be here!

M:  We are just as excited to have you.  So tell us, Miss Eevie, what do you plan to do on her new Web site, ASK EEVIE?

E:  Well, it’s a advice column where folks can submit problems they need help wit, and I tries to share thangs wit ’em that hopeferly will help ’em deal wit what they going through.  But it’s also a inspirational column.  Everbody’s going through sumpthin’.  Yuh know, we’s living in critical times hard to deal wit.  Now, that ain’t me talking.  That’s the Bible–2 Timothy 3:1-5.  I tries to base everthing I tell people on what the Bible say.

M:  Thank you, Miss Eevie.  We appreciate your sharing that Scripture with us.  Now, we understand that you’re a spiritual woman, so does that mean your column will be preachy?

E (laughing):  Well, that depends on what some folks call preachy.  Like I said, I try to base what I say on God’s Word, so from time to time, I will throw in a Scripture or two, but I’ll try to do it in a way that hopeferly leave people feeling like um trying to build ’em up instead of tear ’em down.  I just know everbody need encouragement from time to time, and I just wanna add some ‘freshment to folks’ lives.  That’s how Jesus was, yuh know–he made folks feel refreshed.  And that’s what I wanna do.

M:  He did indeed, and thank you for that very timely but friendly reminder.  So, Miss Eevie, a lot of people would like to know if you’re originally from North Carolina where you live now.

E:  Well, I was act’lly bone and raised in Savannah, Georgia.

M:  Ah, so you’re a Georgia peach.  No wonder you’re so sweet.

E (laughing again gregariously):    Well, thank yuh, honey.  That’s mighty sweet o’ you to say that.  Yes, I was bone in Savannah in 1931.  Me and my brother, Paula’s daddy, worked in the cotton field from sun up ’til sun down.  I only got a fifth-grade education.  We did’n have the opportunity to go to school like these young chil’ren today.  Poppa made us stay home from school and pick cotton.  What I learned, I mostly learned from reading and teaching myself.

M:  Miss Eevie, thank you for sharing that because, you know, a lot of people feel that just because a person is up in years and seems to be uneducated in a secular, worldly way that he can’t teach anyone anything.  Now, you’re a mature lady  who, even though you only have a fifth-grade education, seems to have a lot of wisdom and knowledge.  I know you said that most of what you learned, you learned from reading and teaching yourself, but is there something else in particular that accounts for the knowledge you’ve obtained over the years?

E (her expression turns serious as she presses a fist to her chest):  I owes it all to God and my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.  (Her eyes appear to well up with tears as she continues.)  If’n it was’n fer them, I’d have nuttin’–I’d be nuttin’.  I cherishes my relationship with God.  A lotta what I know–the thangs that matter most in life–I learned from His Word the Bible.  It’s got the answers to all our problems, if’n only we’d read it and obey.

M:  That’s nice, Miss Eevie.  Thank you for sharing that with us.  I can tell that your relationship with God is extremely important to you.

E (nodding):  Yes, it. is.

M:  So, Miss Eevie, how can folks get in touch with you when they need some of your godly, motherly wisdom or just want to chat with you?

E:  Well, my Web site address is  www.askeevie.wordpress.com(She adds, giggling):  Wow, that was a mouthful.  Um surprised I ‘membered it, but I been practicing.

M:  Well, you did good.  Thank you.  I have just one last question before you go.  Do you ever plan to write and publish any books?

E (releasing a quaint giggle):  No.  I thank I’ll leave the writing to you and all the other writers out there.  But yuh never know–that could change one day.

M:  Well, I sure hope so.  I would love to read some books written by you.

E:  Well, we’ll see.

M:  Alright, Miss Eevie.  Well, thank you again for visiting me on my blog and allowing me to be the first to interview you and welcome you to the worldwide web.  And congratulations!

E:  Thank yuh, Maxine, and thank yuh kindly fer having me.  I really enjoyed it.

M:  Me, too.  Well, this is Maxine Billings signing off and wishing you all a very blessed and awesome day!

Leave a Reply

