MAXINE BILLINGS, Photographer & Author

Fine Art Photography Inspired By Natural Creation & Wholesome Reading For Your Family's Entertainment

LOSS OF LIFE’S MOISTURE

Leave a comment

desertRomans 2:15 helps us to appreciate that God gave us the gift of a conscience in order to guide us.  When our conscience is troubled, it can wear us down and torment us.  King David experienced this after taking another man’s wife.  In Psalm 32:1-5, he said that his strength had evaporated from him like water in the dry summer heat.  In other words, his attempted repression of a guilty conscience wore him out and reduced his vigor like a tree that loses life-giving moisture in a drought or in the intense dry heat of summer.  Only when he confessed his sins did he finally gain much-needed relief.

I recently shared a blog that I had finally finished my manuscript to my soon-to-be released novel, DESPERATE HEARTS.  This story will begin nearly two years after where ONE OF A KIND ended.  OOAKI am now in the editing process and also recently made a few minor revisions to the cover which I designed and created myself.  Although in our age of modern technology where many people are now reading books on their electronic devices, I realize that there are still some who really prefer to hold the actual paper copy of a book in their hands–including myself :).  Therefore, I am happy to announce that my current plan is to release DESPERATE HEARTS in both Kindle and paperback edition.  I have included at the bottom of this post a copy of the revised cover so that you can see it as well as read the back cover for a more detailed description of what the story is about.  If you are interested in reading a sneak preview of the first chapter, please click here.

Now, to the title of this blog.  I chose it because I wanted to write about one of the themes that is central to the story in DESPERATE HEARTS which pertains to the conscience.  Since our heart is the center of what motivates us, it only makes sense that the conscience affects it.  When under stress, our heart can become desperate.  As one dictionary defines the word desperate, when in this state, the heart can become reckless or dangerous because of despair or urgency.  Hence, the title of my new novel, DESPERATE HEARTS.  And it is during these moments that we can feel like King David as mentioned above.

Since I am so fascinated by the way that we imperfect humans interact with one another (especially when under stress), I love writing stories about family and relationships dealing with real-life issues.  So as many of you probably already know, my stories contain some drama but also include a little humor and flecks of tasteful romance.

Oh, and by the way, my ONE OF A KIND contest is still ongoing.  The prize is a Walmart gift card valued at $25.00.  For more details, please visit my website BOOKS page.  Plus, upon the release of DESPERATE HEARTS, I will be running another contest.

Well, that’s all for now.  HAPPY  READING!  And as always, this is from my heart to yours.  Good night.

Maxine

http://www.maxinebillings.com

(Moroccan Sand Dunes Photo-Courtesy Office.com Clip Art)

 

 

DH BookCoverPreview 3

 

 

Leave a Reply

